Rants

flash-vixi.jpg

vixiDigisoft.com, softwarewebsales.com and GreatSoftwareOffers.com – Legit? I think NOT!

flash-vixi

So I spend a lot of time just sort of stumbling my way across the internet, and more than once have I come across the site vixiDigisoft.com or other variants of it.

The site offers software for what appears to be really good prices, such as Windows 7 for $79.95, or Adobe CS5 for $259.95.

But all is not well, people. If it seems too good to be true, well, it probably is.

Once we dig a little deeper on the site, we start to find some less-than-professional wording and grammar. This wouldn’t be nearly as alarming to me if they didn’t spell “Mastercard” as “Mastercart”.

So what’s going on here?

You are most certainly NOT receiving legitimate software from this “company” at all. What they are giving you is cracked, pirated, and probably virus-laden crapware that you could easily obtain on your own for free. This much is made clear by the fact they tell you that you never need to register your product. That alone is a dead give away.

What else is likely to happen? They will probably steal your credit card info too. Want more red flags? I thought you’d never ask. What do we see when we click on the BBB icon to verify their standing as a business?

bbb

As I am sure you probably know, a BBB rating is NOT valid unless hosted on the official BBB web site. Go ahead, look em up. I’ll wait.

Wait what the hell is this? Same thing with the TRUSTe verification, only this time it’s NOT EVEN FOR THEIR SITE!

Please learn to proofread guys.

trustE

Oh dear God it gets even worse.

They swear their site is protected by SSL encryption, although at no point is encryption present on the site. That means even outsiders can steal your credit card information!

This is a serious problem.

Software piracy is one thing, but selling said pirated software to steal money from the people who want to legitimately buy a product… I can’t get behind that.

EDIT: Searching google for VixiDigisoft now, this page is the top result instead of the actual site. Awesome! People are learning. Let’s shut these assholes down.

AND NOW, JOINING OUR LIST OF COMPLETE BS SITES – http://greatsoftwareoffers.com/

I once again happened to stumble on a site that looked too good to be true, GreatSoftwareOffers.com.

Rest assured people, with prices like these, you know it’s bullshit.

Update – 3/3/11 – Found ANOTHER one on StumbleUpon! http://softwarewebsales.com I promise you this one is bullshit, too.

Somebody has to do something!

morebs