Web Dev
Pathetic
Oct 13th
Every now and then, you come across something that disturbs you. Maybe it’s offensive in some way. Maybe it disturbs you. Maybe it makes you laugh. Maybe it does all of the above. This is one of those cases.
In my journeys stumbling around the internet, I stumbled on to the following site at http://www.mjlcomputer.com/buildwebsite
What’s wrong with is? At first glance, not much, except maybe the scrollbar from the iframe on the page. But something seems off. Something seems… familiar… I’ve seen this before. Oh, wait…
Holy shit that’s GoDaddy.com! Is it another subsidiary? But wait, something else is off… let’s compare data. These are the GoDaddy.com plans…
So if MJL is a competitor, and felt the need to ninja a site design from GoDaddy (because they have no skills of their own), they should at least be cheaper, right? Well…
Holy crap they cost twice as much!
Why would they do that?
Unless…
Let’s not jump to conclusions. Wait, what’s their customer support telephone number?
GoDaddy.com
MJL Computers
Obviously different, but also close… very close… same fucking AREA CODE close…
So I decided to run a whois lookup on them both. Now it gets more interesting…
GoDaddy.com
Registrant:
GoDaddy.com, Inc.
14455 N Hayden Rd #226
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
MJL
Domain Name: WHOSHOULDLIVEAGAIN.COM
Registrant:
Above.com Domain Privacy
8 East concourse
Beaumaris
VIC
3193
AU
I went to check out WHOSHOULDLIVEAGAIN.COM only to find that the domain is for sale by the same owner. A dead end.
So is GoDaddy.com having multiple personalities, or is someone ripping them off? Whichever the case may be, I am disgusted. What are your opinions?



